Motorhome Hire Scotland

campervan hire scotland

Motorhome Hire Scotland - Testimonials - 2015

Please find below recommendations of our service, and testimonials from our customers (the images included in the customer reviews kindly supplied by our clients, along with their testimonial)

October 2015 - Albert & Peggie, Saskatchewan, Canada:

If there were one word to describe a motorhome rental from Scottish Tourers, and there are many.
Fantastic would be that word.
There does not seem to be anything Gordon and Corinne would not do to accommodate us and make our trip to Scotland the most enjoyable and memorable vacation my wife and I have ever had.
We would not hesitate to recommend the rental of a motorhome for your travel vacation in Scotland.
You have a fully contained living space, come and go as you please.
The only restriction is your imagination as to where you go and what you do.
Compare all you other options and you will find for convenience, cost and freedom of movement you can’t beat a Scottish Tourer motorhome.

October 2015 - Paul & Julie, Leicester, UK:

Right from the word go Gordon and Corinne from Scottish Tourer.co.uk were on hand to make this a holiday to remember, sorting out which motorhome was available, pain free form filling and payment service and help with planning our itinerary. The collection info was straight forward, the handover run through thorough and any questions we had were expertly answered, so we headed off for our big adventure. We opted for the first night in a site with four of our seven nights 'wild camping', only heading for the services of a camp site when we wanted to pick up water and get rid of any waste. The marked map book and pre-programmed satnav were invaluable in pointing out the various stops for LPG, water taps, petrol stations and wild camps amongst other things. We travelled up to Inverness via Aviemore and towards Ullapool, stopping off at Cove, around the coast and down to Applecross, before heading over to Skye, taking in monuments, castles and gardens along with the beautiful lochs, mountains and some very interesting roads. We even managed to perfect the motorhome wave. The scenery was simply stunning and the British weather extremely kind to us. The only problem - it wasn't long enough, so we've already planned what we want to see next year!

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image showing a motorhome with beutiful sunset

October 2015 - Dennis & Margaret, Aberfoyle, Scotland:

We decided it was time we saw more of Scotland and opted for travelling by motorhome which would be a new experience for us. Having done some research and tried contacting a couple of company's we found Scottish Tourers details online. The information on their website and the testimonials from previous customers looked good and on contacting them the difference was clear - it was like you already knew them and they genuinely wanted you to have a great experience. We went ahead and booked with them. The day of collection was a simple and very informative process where the internal and external features of our temporary home were clearly explained with the added security that both Gordon & Corinne said they were available to be contacted at anytime if there were any problems or things not working as expected - as they said better to give us a quick call or text when it could be simple fix rather than go through the whole time with something not working or not able to be used. Fortunately, we had no need to contact them as everything went faultlessly. The provided SatNav had details of 'Wild Camping' locations, water stops, garages, etc. already programmed in and covering a wide area so no matter where you headed the information was there. We didn't need a fixed site during the entire week and cannot say how much we enjoyed our first experience in a motorhome. The vehicle provided was in excellent condition, only around 6 months old and surprisingly more economical than our own car!! So a big thanks to Gordon and Corinne for the effort they put in and the excellent service provided - hopefully we will be repeat customers!

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image showing 2 images of a motorhome at Applecross and at Dunbeath

October 2015 - Donald & Moira, Ayrshire, Scotland:

Moira & I had the holiday of a lifetime & would recommend your company to anyone who is looking for a top range company.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image showing a motorhome with a lovely view and another motorhome on a ferry

October 2015 - Veronica & Paul, Dunfermline, Scotland:

We had a lovely time and particularly enjoyed the high standard of everything within the motorhome and your invaluable support.  It seems a distant memory now but thank you again for everything and for allowing us to rent the motorhome for a short period.

September 2015 - Vickie & Jonathan, St Just. West Cornwall, England:

Our first Scottish motor home adventure with Gordon and Corinne was two years ago. Our next adventure was long overdue... This September we were back and had a fantastic week exploring the Scottish Highlands and the Isle of Skye. The weather was beautiful! Gordon and Corinne are a lovely couple and nothing is ever to much trouble. They run a very professional business but with that all important personal touch. They offer a world of information to make your camping experience the very best that it can be. Our motor home was immaculate with all the necessary to make it a real home from home experience. The scenery is stunning and we especially loved the wild camping. You are totally spoilt for choice but which ever direction you take there will always be spectacular views when you get there.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image showing couple standing outside a motorhome, also a beautiful image of the Cuillins in Skye

If you are thinking of renting a motor home in Scotland then it has to be Scottish Tourer... you will not be disappointed.

September 2015 - Liz & Pat, Blewbury, England:

We had an amazing holiday with Scottish Tourer, one of the best holidays we’ve ever had. From start, being picked up at the airport, to finish back at the airport we had absolutely everything we could ever need. Gordon & Corinne make it so easy with their vast knowledge & experience, they gave us a run through of how to use everything on the motorhome and then we were off with a sat nav, map, suggested routes and assurances that they were only a text or a phone call away if needed. The sat nav, pre loaded with places to camp whether wild or site, tap locations and lots besides, was invaluable and used quite often. Other days we just set off with no particular plan or destination in mind, happy to follow a road wherever it took us. We would have no hesitation whatsoever to do it all over again and will definitely return to Scottish Tourer.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image showing a motorhome near the beach at Cove Scotland

September 2015 - Ray & Elaine, Barnsley, England :

We had a glorious and luxurious fortnight in our superbly appointed motor home courtesy of Scottish Tourers. In 14 nights we stayed only two in campsites, the van was so well equipped we only needed to fill ip the water and empty the waste from time to time. This is the way to see Scotland (if you don't have a motorbike!!! But that's another story) I have nothing but praise for Gordon Corrine and their operation, thanks, we will be back.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image showing a motorhome with a a local postbox abd a lovely view

September 2015 - Dawn & David, Devon, England:

We decided to take a motor home holiday for the second year, and it was everything and more. The van was very comfortable and had everything we needed for a fantastic week. I could not recommend it highly enough. We wild camped next to lochs, and valleys , to wake up to the most beautiful scenery ever. We had the best seafood plata at the Ee usk in Oban. We happened upon a Waterfall and salmon ladder,amazing! I could go on. But the best recommendation I can give is I can't wait till we do it all again. Scotland here we come.

August 2015 - Mark & Bev, Grantham, England :

As a motor home and wild camping "virgin" my senses were at fever pitch as we turned off the A9 at Perth. The Bessacar Luxury model is like Dr Who's Tardis and you cannot fail to be amazed by the things it can do. It is beautifully prepared, spotlessly clean and as Gordon's comprehensive brief gives you full confidence as you climb into the Captain's seat and leave the yard. Note to all, Gordon is a mine of information so listen to him it only enhances your holiday experience. The road maps he provides with personal notes on places to stop and eat plus the sat nav programmed with fuel, water points and a variety of other points of interest means if you fail to have a fantastic holiday it's your fault! Ideally positioned right on the A9, your holiday starts immediately as the road quickly allows you to see the classic Scottish views. Loch Laggan was our first wild camping stop, where we shared the location with a man in a tent. Moving north past Inverness and swinging left to Loch Maree, you could not get better views or fresher air! Loch Carron is outstanding, full Scottish breakfast at the Waterside Cafe and then onto Skye. Once again the views and landscapes are out of this world, sheep on the road can be a bit stubborn but you are on holiday so who cares! My main thought as we headed back to Perth, was I wonder if Gordon would mind if we did not hand the motor home in and kept it for another two weeks. Sadly all good things come to an end and the keys exchange hands and you return to normality. The Bessacar gives you everything you need for a very comfortable holiday and if you add in the natural ingredients of Scotland you cannot fail come away refreshed with a smile on your face. A massive thanks to Gordon and Corinne, you provide a top quality and professional service. Now I am an "experienced" motor homer, I will be back in the future to continue the adventure. Note to Gordon, please fit the cheap wing mirrors next time I book.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image showing motorhome images in scotland

August 2015 - Brian & Elizabeth, Fife Scotland :

A big thank you to Corrine and Gordon, we had a fantastic few days in the Motorhome.
Can't recommend this company enough, our motorhome was imaculately clean and had everything in it that we needed for our break. We had decided to wild camp and the sat nav came in very handy as it already had places in it where we could camp. The first night we actually camped in our friends street to save us going home from her birthday party, much to the amusement of the neighbours and we set off the next day heading for Braemar and eventually spent the night in Granton on Spey, we camped next to the river which was gorgeous, the weather was not gorgeous but in the motorhome there is everything you need, no need to even look for a restaurant as the cooking facilities in the van are fantastic .
We went further north the next few days and had an amazing time
thanks again to Corrine and Gordon

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image showing a beach with mountains in the background

August 2015 - Mr & Mrs Shipman, Nampa, Idaho, USA :

We were very pleased with our motorhome hire from Scottish Tourer. Gordon met us at the Edinburgh airport after a long international flight and shuttled us to their office in Perth where we met his wife Corinne. Both are very friendly, professional, and extremely helpful with suggestions and information emailed to us months prior when we'd made the initial deposit, which helped immensely in planning our trip. We were supplied with a road atlas and satnav with tons of waypoints for attractions, camping sites, water, grocery stores, etc. The atlas had their notes about places to be sure to stop and where to avoid. The motorhome itself was nearly new and spotless. We were given a good walk around and explanation of the features of the motorhome, where the best place was to get our first supply of groceries nearby and a first place to stop for the night. we spent nearly three weeks travelling around the Isle of Skye and Glen Coe.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image showing a landscape image taken by one of our clients

The return of the motorhome was just as easy as picking it up. Renting from Gordon and Corinne was great. I wish all rental experiences were like this. The hire rate was not the least expensive, but well worth the extra for the quality of vehicle and service. When you can travel overseas (or just down the road) and not have the stress or burden of stuff that doesn't work or less than stellar service when you need it the trip goes so much smoother. This was our first trip to Scotland and we couldn't be happier with how it all turned out. When we return to Scotland we'll be sure to rent from Scottish Tourer.

August 2015 - John & Anita, Redditch, England :

Simply awesome holiday, great service from Gordon and Corrine. We are hooked and will definitely be back next year (if we haven't bought one by then). Thanks again

August 2015 - Ian & Anne, Oldham, England:

Just arrived home after a fantastic touring holiday in Scotland .it was our first time using a motorhome and I had my reservations, but thanks to Corinne & Gordon and their beautiful motorhomes I'm now hooked on touring holidays. They do everything possible to ensure a happy and safe holiday. If you're considering a motorhome holiday in Scotland look no further, you'll not be disappointed!!

July 2015 - Jean-Paul, Castaeu, Beguim:

This was our first Motorhome experience and I must say that we really enjoyed it. I got extensive information from Gordon prior to my decision to work with them. In comparison with other companies that I have quickly reviewed, Gordon and Corinne offer brand new vehicles (mine had barely 6000 miles) and fully equipped. No supplements in small characters for the TV, heating, etc. Corinne was at the airport to pick us up at the agreed time and we switftly move to their place to collect the vehicle. They gave us very extensive information and tips about the inside and the outside. The also provided us with leaflets and roadmaps full of very valuable information about places to visit, to see, where to eat, to sleep, etc. The only technical problem with the control panel was solved with two SMS's and in five minutes. We did a great two-week tour of the West Coast and I am sure that their professionnalism was a decisive factor of the success, even if the weather was beyond their control. We want to return to Scotland and we will surely rely on them again.

July 2015 - Oliver & Family, Switzerland:

We did it again. The second year in a row we did explore Scotland with a motorhome from Scottish Tourer Motorhome Hire this time went to the high north. In spite of the tricky weather everything went well again and we really enjoyed the 2 weeks. Many thanks to Corinne and Gordon to make this happen.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image showing a panorama of a beach including a motorhome

July 2015 - Jan & Magnus Jaderholm, Sweden:

My son and I rented a Swift Bessacarr 454 Scottish Tourer in July this year to explore the west side of Scotland, we had been in Scotland on motorcycle in 2005 and 2007 without being able to explore the west side because it rained the whole time we tried so we went to the east where the weather was better.
We were picked up at the airport in Edinburgh by Gordon, and when all the paperwork was ready we were given a thorough review of the motor home before we went to Durness where we would submit some photos that we took in 2005 when we were there and had trouble with one bike.
The motorhome was new and smelled new as new cars can, all we needed was included and we wild camp most of the time our 14 days. We went on the narrowest single roads without a problem and none of us had driven a motor home earlier.
The GPS we could borrow the Scottish tours but plenty of places to wild camp on or where to fill water, etc. was very helpful.

We had a great experience thanks to Gordon and Corinne.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image showing a motorhome with mountains in the background

July 2015 - Irene & Ronnie, Cumbernauld, Scotland:

Just returned from our first experience of camping/touring.. We had a great time in spite of a lot of rain but managed to see and do everything we set out to do. Scottish Tourer Motorhome was like being in a luxury mobile hotel suite. Great service and can happily say we had no issues whatsoever.

Well done Gordon n Corrine

July 2015 - Angie & Colin, Arbroath, Scotland:

Thanks Scottish Tourer for a beautiful, new, modern, luxurious and well equipped motorhome to explore Scotland in. We were also very appreciative of all the additional information you provided us with about points of interest, routes and places to camp - very helpful. Thanks for taking time to demonstrate how to operate the van and also being on hand to provide support with any questions we had during our trip. A professional, friendly and helpful service. We highly recommend you.

June 2015 - Nina & Partner From Broughty Ferry, Scotland:

Thanks again for your perfect tidy, cleaned and amazing motorhome we have hired in july 2015. We had a fantastic week and travelled to Inverness, Cromarty, Dornoch, Dunrobin Castle, Lybster, John o`Groats, Dunnet Head, Thurso, Strathy point and back to Perth!
The information you gave us was great and your navigation system with all the help to stay overnight with the little flag was very helpful and is a fantastic idea!! it made our first time trip with a motorhome much easier.
Big thanks again.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Image showing Lybster Beach

June 2015 - William & Kathleen, Kirkcaldy, Scotland:

We recently spent two weeks in a Scottish Tourers Motorhome.(13th -27th June) From our initial inquiry Gordon and Corrine were exceptionally helpful in suggesting an itinery for our trip to the Hebrides and sent us lots of first class information. The islands are truly beautiful and no matter where we were we always had a room with a view! The sat-nav with wild camping sites was brilliant and as Corrine told us about the ferry ports having service points it meant that we could avail of these sites for most of our trip.
The Motorhome itself was top of the range. It was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and cosy-most welcome in what was a typical Scottish Summer! We were the envy of other travellers at times!
During our trip we sought clarification on a couple of points and Gordon and Corrine responded to our calls immediately and patiently explained answers to our questions.
We would strongly recommend Scottish Tourers to anyone contemplating a motorhome holiday and we will certainly be getting in touch with Gordon and Corrine to arrange another trip in a fabulous motorhome.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Breathtaking Views

June 2015 - Janice & Mother, Cheltonham, England:

Despite mixed fortunes with the weather, our recent experience in hiring a motorhome through Scottish Tourer Motorhome Hire was faultless.  The vehicle was only a few months old and had everything we needed for our first venture into wild camping.  Gordon and Corinne were also great in taking time out to help us tailor our route to visit areas that would be of particular appeal.  And they also gave us the confidence to try wild camping on our very first and many subsequent nights.
Their passion for motorhoming is infectious and results in beautifully presented vehicles along with expert and friendly support which is available throughout your holiday.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - Breathtaking Views

June 2015 - Michael & Cherryl, Axminster, England:

We for a longtime wished to visit the Western Isles.It seemed to us that the best way would be by Motorhome.Enter Gordon and Corinne.Research on the internet led us to them as they were well positioned,seemed to have first class vehicles and accepted over 70's.
We were not disappointed when we picked up our vehicle which was the height of luxury and came complete with whisky,chocolates,bathrobes, slippers and a TomTom showing wild camping positions.
Our plan was to catch the ferry from Oban to Barra but there were gale warnings out so we switched our booking to go from Ullapool to Stornaway.This worked well having visited Inverewe Gardens on the way.
We can recommend the Ferryboat inn in Ullapool.
The boat was modern and we learnt later that the Oban ferry did sail and took 7 hrs rather than 5.
Because of the weather we headed south and stayed on South Uist for 3 nights and Barra for 2.
On each we can strongly recommend Kilbride campsite on S Uist looking out  over the Sound Of Barra,small with good facilities.On Barra Norve camping right by the Atlantic.Both should be booked.
What a marvellous trip,no problem on narrow roads as quiet, friendly people thank you Gordon and Corrine for our palace on wheels.

June 2015 - Dan & Dee, Warwickshire, England:

We have just had 2 weeks in the luxury Bolero Motorhome touring around Scotland. The initial idea was to see the west coast but the weather in the first week was not great so we drifted east. We really enjoyed seeing different areas with varying scenery,lots of wildlife all from the comfort of our Motorhome.

The van had everything we wanted and the shower was better than we have had in a lot of hotels!

We wild camped for the majority of the time, which was really easy with lots of places suggested on the very handy pre marked sat nav that was provided. this also had places marked to fill up with water, so as we drove along we didn't have to think too much about things like that, we just filled up as we passed, most places we wouldn't have known that the taps were there until we stopped!

The service we received from Gordon and Corrine was second to none from booking to collecting and returning the Motorhome. We had used one from another hire company last year in England so knew the basics, but the information we had when collecting was very comprehensive. We didn't need to call Gordon and Corrine with any problems during our holiday,but knew that they were only a call away should we have needed to.

I would very much recommend anyone thinking of hiring a Motorhome to do so from Scottish Tourers.  One big advantage is that you are hiring from people who actually are Motorhome enthusiasts themselves, instead of a faceless company only interested in taking your cash.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland - At the beach

June 2015 - Mike, Cheshire, England.:

We had a wonderful holiday touring the Outer Hebrides and renting the campervan from Scottish Tourer contributed greatly. They have a convenient central location, great new vans, and Gordon and Corinne were fantastic to deal with from start to finish. Wouldn’t hesitate for a second to recommend them and we’re already planning our next campervan adventure!”

June 2015 - James & Rosemary, Northumberland, England:

Thanks for your excellent service.I rate your service 100% and your brand new motorhome gave us a really comfortable and enjoyable week touring Scotland. You and Corinne could not have ben more helpful and obliging. I would definitely recommend you  to anyone wanting a guaranteed luxury motorhome holiday.

June 2015 - Ray & Liz, Minehead, Somerset, England:

Due to trying to book within about seven weeks of our intended holiday we found that you only had one motorhome still available and that was a 6 berth. Rather large for just two of us we thought, but we decided to go ahead when you told us that some couples preferred to have a more spacious model. From the beginning, I was impressed by your website. Everything was well presented and by using all the supplementary material we really did feel that we were well prepared even though we had never before tried a motorhome holiday.
The exchange of our car for the motorhome was very smooth with Corinne giving us a comprehensive introduction to the vehicle and although the volume of new information was a challenge we were reassured that we would cope knowing that all the instruction books were neatly filed and stored! Our week in the Highlands proved to be most enjoyable despite generally poor weather. Even when it was really wet, we felt snug and comfortable in our extremely well equipped home, It looked big from outside but was easy to drive and performed economically (nearly 30mpg) and I never felt that it lacked power. I can thoroughly recommend Scottish Tourers to future prospective hirers. The motorhome could not have been better, the service from Corinne and Gordon was excellent and the weather in no way spoiled our tour.

Motorhome Hire in Scotland

June 2015 - Richard & Pauline, Swinford, Oxfordshire, England:

We have just come back from 2 weeks touring Scotland, the West, North and then East coast. What a great time we had. The scenery was stunning and we were fortunate to see quite a bit of wildlife. Deer coming down the beach in evening where we were free camping, puffins, golden eagles, osprey, dolphins, a minke whale, grouse and numerous other birds and sea birds. A motorhome is the ideal way to see the wildlife as you can just stop and watch and make a cup of tea!! The weather was dry and cold some days but the motorhome was warm. We free camped and used campsites and going out of season in June, no where was too busy. Gordon sent us routes of things to see and places to stay beforehand, this was extremely helpful in helping to plan the day ahead. Also knowing that we could contact Gordon or Corinne should be unsure of anything was extreme reassuring. The motorhome was easy to drive after the first day despite being 6m long, along the many single track roads, which all had ample passing places.

Motorhome Wildlife Scotland

May 2015 - Sharron & Charlie, Croydon, England:

Just want to say a huge thank you for an absolutely wonderful holiday in Maeve the motorhome ( I had to name her as she was home for so long) we had an amazing time despite the inclement weather at times but was always warm n toasty!! The motorhome allowed us to see so much, our favourite was definitely the west coast and loved Sunnyside croft near Arisaig. We really hope to come back to you and see the east coast and more of the islands.
Thank you again for a holiday we will never forget.

Motorhome Freedom Scotland

May 2015 - Philip & Brenda Pool, Hull, Yorkshire, England:

I have always wanted to hire a motorhome to see more of Scotland after visiting several different areas over the past few years so when I came across Scottish Tourers and read the excellent reviews I decided to go all out and book the best - the luxury Bolero or posh camper van as my wife calls it!! The Bolero certainly met all my expectations and I wouldn't consider going to any other company to hire a motor home. It was immaculate inside with everything you could wish for to make our trip so enjoyable.

Gordon & Corrine were so helpful and from the moment I booked nothing was too much trouble for them, the fact they were only a phone call away if you had any problems was very reassuring. I had already discussed with Gordon the route I was thinking of doing and on arrival the sat nav & road map were set up with good suggestions for wild camping and camp sites along the way.

Motorhome Touring Scotland

Over the week we travelled over 750 miles and it was a pleasant surprise to find I averaged 30 miles per gallon and despite the vehicle being 8 metres long had no problem negotiating any of the roads - we travelled up as far as Durness at the top of Sutherland. We saw new places with spectacular scenery which we hadn't been to before as well as revisiting old favourites like Plockton. The only downside - the week went too quickly, roll on next year

May 2015 - Jim & Leith, North Yorkshire, England:

IWe have just used Scottish Tourer MH hire in May 2015 to go around the West Coast - they were excellent to deal with from the first contact to handing over the keys and explaining how it all worked (never used one before) the M Home was only 2 weeks old clean and very reliable which were the important factors, they had even planned a route for us which was breath-taking. They may be at the top end of the price range but I would suggest you get what you pay for. I would definitely recommend them and will hopefully be going again next year!

May 2015 - Alan & Eileen, Tullibody, Scotland:

Eileen and I would like to thank you sincerely for both the high level of service and the friendly, warm and personal welcome that you extended to us during the term of our motorhome hire in April.

The Bessacar 454 motorhome that we hired from you was immaculately presented and extremely well supplied with all the kitchen equipment and miscellaneous items needed for this type of holiday.

We were also impressed with the effort that you and Corrine had gone to in preparing and supplying a map which highlighted all the relevant camping and sightseeing information and also supplying us with a satnav which had more relevant information for 'wild camping' included.

This was our first motorhome holiday and as a result of the advice and support that you gave us we had a wonderful and problem free holiday.

Thank you so much, we can’t wait till our next motorhome holiday using one of your vehicles.

April 2015 - Robert & Phyllis, Armadale, West Lothian:

We picked up our motorhome for 1 Weeks Scottish touring holiday commencing 25th April 2015 from Gordon & Corrine who provided everything we required for our weeks stay, including the barbeque which we made good use off.

It was our first time in a motorhome and Gordon & Corrine provided all the information we needed from use of Sat Nav, television, power/water supplies etc. to guidance on driving the vehicle. The vehicle and contents were immaculate, with only 700 miles on the clock.

The weather was rain, sleet snow, icy winds and an odd spot of sunshine and despite all that we felt very cosy and content within the motorhome. We spent the first six nights of our holiday, wild camping beside the beaches and lochs of Scotland in some wonderful spots at Aviemore, Loch Ewe near Cove, Applecross, Kyle of Lochalsh, under Ben Nevis Fort William, and Oyster Bar Restaurant car park at Loch Fyne (Information provided by Gordon & Corrine and found on the provided Sat Nav Tom Tom) Driving the vehicle was a dream despite the weather conditions, mountain passes & some single track roads with passing places. The panoramic views, from the windscreen and being seated high, were something to behold. Even in the worst conditions with snow and slush on the narrow roads and snow blizzards in front of us, my wife felt safe and although at times a driving challenge the vehicle handled perfectly. Air conditioning in the cab is provided but we did not need it on this occasion.

Wild Scotland Motorhome

The vehicle space and facilities were more than adequate and the heating/hot showers greatly appreciated on this occasion. We spent our last night at Stirling in a campsite recommended by Gordon & Corrine, which we greatly enjoyed. It also gave us the chance to get ourselves cleaned up and the van/contents back to near the provided excellent standards.

I would highly recommend Scottish Tourers for their excellent service, knowledge, being very helpful and friendly. They were only a phone call away and even some of our stupid questions were handled kindly with clear provided guidance.

This first motorhome (Swift Escape 664) holiday will not be our last as we have reserved a vehicle for purchase in October this year Gordon and Corrine made us feel like friends rather than customers and could not have provided a better service.

Highly Recommended.

March 2015 - Leslie & Lou Ekus from Massachusetts USA:

This time last year, we were sending our deposit to Scottish Tourer for our trip in May and making all our plans. Oh, how we wish we were doing it again this year! Gordon and Corrinne were amazing and patient with us as we were planning our route. They responded quickly to our emails and gave us some very helpful advice. Since we were flying over from the US, we didn’t have the room for much more than our clothes and they provided everything we needed.

We had arrived the day before and spent the night in a local hotel so we would have a restful start to our vacation. Corinne called and picked us up early on our day of departure. Everything was organized, paperwork complete and off we went to pick up our home for a week.

Stac Pollaidh Motorhome

The motorhomes are brand new, beautiful, and clean, and had everything we needed. Others were also picking up their motorhomes so Gordon gave us all the general do’s and don’ts about driving on the narrow roads in the highlands. Then individually, we each took turns getting settled as we waited our turn. Corinne gave us the inside scoop, making sure we were comfortable with how things worked and that we understood that they were only a phone call away if there were any issues. Feeling like a parent taking a newborn home from the hospital, we left the yard and headed out on our own.

Since we are from the States, we are used to driving on the right side of the road in an automatic transmission vehicle, so we did panic (slightly)when we realized, besides driving on the left side of the road, (which we expected) our motorhome also had a standard transmission. Once we got over that, we were fine. As the navigator, I was on high alert to make sure my husband stayed on the correct side of the road and to instruct him on where to go on a roundabout. It took a few miles for us to relax totally, but once we did, the rest of the trip was a breeze! Scotland is magical! The wild camping gave us the freedom to spend the night in some beautiful spots that we never would have experienced by driving in a car, going from hotel to hotel.

We spent most of the evenings in breathtaking locations: near Kilchurn Castle on Loch Awe; on Applecross beach, after a nerve wracking trip over the mountain, with a view of the Isle of Skye; in a campground right on the coast, waking to the bleating of lambs; parked on an outlook with a view of Eilean Donan Castle at sunset; on a pullover, rocking as the wind blew through the valley with an amazing view, near Ullapool.

We will be back to Scotland at some point, so we will be back to see Corinne and Gordon at Scottish Tourer to book another motorhome! They have a great sense of humor, are genuinely friendly and know how to run a business! PS: they are only a phone call away, we found out.

Scottish Tourer Motorhome Hire, 5 Ruthvenmill View, Huntingtower, Perth, Perthshire, Scotland PH1 3JL
TEL: 01738 580 755

© Scottish Tourer - Motorhome Hire 2009 - 2017