Motorhome Hire Scotland

campervan hire scotland

Motorhome Hire Scotland - Testimonials

Please find below recommendations of our service, & testimonials from our customers (the images included in the customer reviews were kindly supplied by our clients, along with their testimonial)

May 2018 - Maureen & Fiona From Renfrewshire , Scotland

We decided to use Scottish Tourer, after looking at lots of other companies, because of the the many glowing reports from previous users, and it was definitely the right choice. Gordon and Corinne are experts in all things motorhome and their motorhomes are top quality with everything you could possibly need or want. If you are looking for straightforward guidance for your motorhome holiday with instant help at the end of a phone 24/7 look no further. Having spent a wonderful week at Glenmore campsite where the van was admired by other campers we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Scottish Tourers. Outstanding service from start to finish!
Thank you Gordon & Corinne

Sun setting at Glenmore Campsite

May 2018 - Jerome ,Manue & Lili, Lenoncourt, France

Last year we have decided to discover the highland with a motorhome, it was a firstime for us, so we left to east France from Edinburgh. Corinne came to pick us up to go to Perth to collect the motorhome, we were a little bit worried , but Dawn told us how was working the motorhome and we reassured then we left during 10 days find out the beautiful highland with amazing landscape. The motorhome Islay was perfect for 3 persons and satnav allowed to find wildcampsite ,campsite , water, & lpg. It was possible to call Corrine if it had a problem any time for us for example one evening we had a little problem and Corinne answered us quickly mainly For firstime it was awesome.

Scotland is full of amazing sights

May 2018 - Neil & Caron, Bradford, England

The van was immaculate, only 800 miles on the clock and it performed well. All the necessary equipment was there and functional.
The only constructive criticism we would have was the design of the camping table. It was difficult to sit up to the table to eat because of the supports on every side. We had a similar problem when we used to camp and we ended up purchasing a table where the supports were at two sides only which enabled you to get your legs under. This is a minor criticism and the only criticism where we could offer improvement.
The amount of work researching all the points of interest was fantastic, a real bonus to have this to refer to!!!

Scottish Tourer Comment:

The picnic tables we use must be able to fold away to take up as little space as possible to leave room for more important items and unfortunately we have found that anything you can put your legs under does not fold away and takes up too much space. But we thank you for letting us know and we will keep a look out for something better.

August 2017 - The Simpsons, Birmingham, England

Collecting van very easy with comprehensive instruction on use plus handy tips from Gordon and Corinne (also pay attention to pre collection tip of not bringing too much stuff!). We wild camped every night, including the final night and therefore had some fantastic views not available in campsites.

Scotland is full of amazing sights

We travelled to Loch Linnie, then to the Black Isle and around the North Coast 500, ending with an overnight stop in Aviemore and then Kingsbarns, all in 10 days. We still managed to visit Culloden, Cawdor Castle, Scotland's Secret Bunker and some distilleries as well as sample some fantastic seafood, The Seafood Shack in Ullapool is a must provided the weather is dry!

Wild camping in the solitude of Scotland

Our additional tips and hints would be:

Cemetries are your friend in terms of filling up with water as there is often a water stand near the entrance gate and many of them have some very pretty churches to visit too, plus the opportunity to give a donation for the water you have just topped up with!

Aim to fill with water as early in the day as possible so you don't have to worry about it later (also some of the water stops on the sat nav have changed e.g. some Gleaner garages have converted to water/ air taps and so are not so useful.

Do not worry if the spot you had decided to camp at is full as we found some really beautiful spots just a little further on, the wildcamp point of interest feature on the sat nav is really useful in this situation.

Broxden Services has water handy for filling up on the final morning, remember that some toilets are only open after 9am which is possibly relevant if you wildcamp on your final night. The ones on the Fife side of the Tay Bridge open earlier so it is possible to wildcamp on the final night in Fife or Dundee and still fill up with everything before you return the van.

We would give our holiday and the service from Scottish Tourers 5 stars (out of 5!)

having fun in a Motorhome

August 2017 - The Prentice family (Father & Son), NSW, Australia

To any potential customer looking to hire a motorhome from a business that goes above an beyond to please the customer it has to be Scottish Tourer, why because from the moment I enquired regarding a motorhome to hire within the peak tourist time with Scotland Gordon went above and beyond working in with me to allow me to get my money back from a failed booking to secure a motorhome from him. From the minute we arrived in Edinburgh and met the family who run the business to the last day of our tour the customer service did not stop. The motorhomes themselves are A1 brand new fully equiped with everything you may need, when researching other companies there were extra costs for this and that, ie: table, chairs, BBQ, km's things you do not think about when hiring a vehicle for your holiday especially when you travel from Australia. Scottish Tourer vehicles came with the lot. This is not a sales pitch this is a true and honest opinion regarding the customer service and the product they supply. To Gordon, Corrine & Dawn, who I might state supplied freshly baked short bread biscuits that were amazing, I can not guarantee this will happen for you but you just may never know. Thank you so much guys for the experience of seeing my fathers birth nation in comfort and style, I travelled about 1200 km's in style and the fuel economy is amazing. Like I stated and the time of handover is maybe a traffic laws package for customers that come form the other side of the globe and the Tom Tom position to allow for better viewing for drivers.
Guys I can't thank you enough.

Motorhome on a campsite

August 2017 - The Bunn's, Evesham, England

We really enjoyed the week but it was quite daunting considering the size of the van and the narrowness of some of the Scottish roads but both the van and ourselves survived!
We did all of your recommended Western coast route apart from Applecross, but that was due to poor weather so we decided to give it a miss.
This was the first time we had covered this area of Scotland and the scenery is stunning despite the weather.
Your recommended campsites at Ullapool, Arasaig and Stirling were great, we did one wild camp near Loch Carron which was fine, with the wild camp info on the sat nav really useful.
We also used Loch Fyne Oyster Bar another great recommendation, it was excellent.

A couple of things on the van and hand over.

There is a lot of info to take in on your handovers so for the first day or so your not quite sure whats what on the van, so maybe some laminated check sheet/idiot guides for the hot water, charging and water systems would help.

We found the position of the television a problem with both of us banging our heads on it. We thought it would be better sited on the driver side of the shower room.

We found parking the van a problem one or twice with Oban especially an issue. We had earmarked Roseview campsite for the overnight stop but thought it would be to far out of town to walk in, but having given up on the parking we went there and it was only a 40 minute walk on a quiet single track road. We thought the campsite was good, not to the Arisaig standard but fine.
Maybe some parking recommendations for places like Oban if its possible.

That's it really, thanks for supplying a campervan in immaculate condition we had a great holiday.

Scottish Tourer Comment:

Thank you for taking the time to review us it is very much appreciated and we hope to see you again.
There are quick start guides in the Motorhome instruction pack and we are always available by phone .. However we agree that its a lot of information to take in on hand over especially for first timers. In Oban there are 8 designated motorhome parking bays near Tesco supermarket which are on the Sat Navs we supply... but we will make sure in future people heading to that area are aware of that. We agree about the TV position but that’s the only place it can be sited for viewing in the lounge and then also turned to view in the bedroom... motorhomes are very compact and sometimes it compromise of what goes where.

August 2017 - Alan & Elaine, East Kilbride Scotland

We recently hired the luxury Skye motor home from Scottish Tourers in Perth.
The motor home was perfect for our week long break touring Scotland. Considering the size of it, it was very economical to run. The island bed was another bonus, no bed to make up or tidy away and it was comfortable. The swivel seats make the van even more roomy. It was definitely just what you need for touring. Gordon and Corinne explained how it all worked before we left (which is really quite easy).
We will be hiring again!

Motorhome on a campsite

August 2017 - Ron & Carron, Singapore

My experience in dealing with Scottish Tourer could not have been easier for a first time Motorhome user this year. I found the booking process to be simple and effective and I also found the orientation of the Motorhome to be simple and well articulated for someone who was clueless about how a Motorhome works - the team made us feel very at home, comfortable and confident.

The Motorhome itself was immaculate and faultless and I could not have been happier with this product and the touring information, maps and GPS provided by the team - which all helped make our holiday a superb experience.

Cannot recommend Scottish Tourer highly enough.

August 2017 - Alan & Gillian, Hawick, Scotland

From the very first time we contacted Gordon and Corinne to the time we sadlhad to return the motorhome it was a very pleasurable experience and would highly recommend it to everyone.
We hired the Kontiki 625 the top of the range model and we can't fault anything about it, apart from the noise of the cutlery and dishes when travelling but this was a minor issue (just turn the music up ☺).
We had always wanted to do this and will certainly be doing it again in the near future. In the model we hired we had lovely Personnal touches i.e. Bath robes, slippers, tablet and a wee Scottish dram.
It was good to be able to chase the sun and be spontaneous. Enjoyed being able to stop anywhere on the road and make lunch or dinner. Was a wonderful adventure.
So looking forward to our next adventure.
So happy motorhoming people.

July 2017 - The Bonds, Southampton, England

Gordon and Corinne were amazing from the word go, we couldn't rate them high enough! The motorhome was brand new and had everything you could possibly need, literally turn up grab some food and your all set!

Eilean Donan &the Highlander

I would say that the particular model we had needed a bit more thought from the factory in terms of 'rattle-prevention' as it was very noisy driving along, even with our best efforts to pack around everything in the kitchen. But on a whole, easy to drive, comfortable, economical and clean! Thanks for helping us enjoy our first highlands tour.

July 2017 - Wendy & Graham, Northants, England

Thanks Scottish Tourer for a wonderful holiday. We used the wild camping suggestions for each night of our 7 day holiday and got to stay in some fantastic quiet and remote locations. It was this idea that first attracted us to use this company.

The Motorhome was first class, well equipped and maintained. The tips given by Corrinne and Gordon helped with the wild camping enabling us to use all the facilities the motorhome had to offer.

Image shows 2 motorhomes in the foreground with a lighthouse in the background

We saw some of the more remote areas of Scotland that we would not have visited, thanks to the wild camping sites.
We are already looking at dates to book again.

June 2017 - Carole & Catriona, Lancs, England

TOP NOTCH MOTORHOMES AND SERVICE - If you're looking for excellent quality in a Motorhome to tour Scotland and the Islands along with a top notch service, look no further than Scottish Tourer Motorhomes. We rented last year and enjoyed the experience so much that we booked immediately on our return home for this year. Not just for ourselves but my in-laws as well. We all wanted to do a 2 week tour of the northern part of Scotland, Outer Hebrides and the Kintyre Peninsula. The Kontiki and Skye models afforded all the comfort we needed and more. Gordon, Corinne and Dawn presented us with 2 exceptionally clean motorhomes for our trip that were well equipped and ready to go once we had undergone our thorough orientation.

Image shows 2 motorhomes in the foreground with a lighthouse in the background

Again the TomTom provided us with details of wild camp areas, water etc and was a great asset to have. We had one or two queries on things during our trip and both Corinne and Gordon were extremely helpful on the phone and didn't seem to mind us calling. Soooo helpful. In return, we let them know that one of the council run chemical disposal points at the Harris Port of Leverburgh had closed and been removed 3 days prior to us arriving, that way they could let other clients know and update their own information.

The beauty of Scotland, captured when motorhome touring

Scottish Tourer have thought of everything when it comes to providing a motorhome and service for a wonderful care free holiday in a very special part of the world. We HIGHLY RECOMMEND them and look forward to booking again in the future for another adventure.

June 2017 - Elaine & Fergie Nelson, Strathaven, Scotland

We have just returned from a weeks holiday touring the west coast of Scotland in a Skye model motorhome hired from Scottish Tourers of Perth.
As newbees to motorhome hire we were a bit apprehensive but we can honestly say that this was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable holidays we have had!
From our 1st enquiry email to Gordon until we handed the van back at the end of our holiday the service was exemplary. Gordon emailed us routes and information before hand which let us plan our trip.
When we arrived to pickup the motorhome Gordon, Corinne and Dawn were very welcoming and friendly. All necessary details were taken and information given out in an organised and professional manner.

Wild Camping on Skye and Firemore Beach

Helpful tips were given on driving, routes, campsites etc before we left. The information contained in the sat nav was invaluable and made things so much easier. It was so reassuring to know that if there were any problems then either Gordon or Corinne could be called for advice.
The motorhome was luxurious and immaculately clean and so well equipped that there was nothing I can say that we needed that wasn't included.
We hope to do this this type of holiday again next year but for longer - there is so much more to see &do. We will definitely use Scottish Tourers again and would recommend this company to anyone considering this type of holiday!

FANTASTIC MOTORHOME, FANTASTIC COMPANY, FANTASTIC HOLIDAY

June 2017 - Bill & Di - Scarborough, England

We would like to say a big thank you to both of you for setting us up so well for what turned out to be a memorable tour. We'd hoped for an old fashioned road trip .. starting each day and not being really sure where we would end it... and that’s exactly what we got. Your welcome, support and advice, and of course the vehicle itself (with it’s sat nav) all contributed hugely to that end.

Motorhome overlooking mountains and Lochs

Needless to say life hasn’t been the same since. I can’t find reverse, I keep looking for a non existent sixth gear and I’ve no idea where the handbrake is! Di decided on the way home that she couldn’t see anything out of the car window as its so low compared to the Motorhomes so buried her head in a paper for the next three hours. The worst part however was when we got to that time of the day when we would have been starting to think where we might spend the night…!

June 2017 - Sue & Jim - Chesterfield, England

Just arrived back from a wonderful 2 weeks in Scotland in a Scottishtourer Islay. It was well equipped and very comfortable, my husband loved the Captains chair that swivelled, he always sat there!
I'm sure you will find your own way of doing things, but a tip about travelling without the pots rattling... I put them all in a box wrapped in kitchen roll and just got out what we needed to eat, washed them and then put back in the box, left it at floor level when we travelled. It worked really well for us.
A couple of really good sites that we stayed on we're Blair Athol Castle site, Sands at Gairloch, almost like wild camping in the sand dunes, but with all the facilities and fabulous beach walks, then Silver Sands at Lossiemouth, it has a lot of facilities that we didn't use, but the main attraction is that it is right next to RAF Lossiemouth. We were entertained daily by Eurofighters  practising manoeuvres - heaven - no need to go to an airshow this year. Again lovely beach walks and seals and a whale did a somersault for us.
Loved waving to other Motorhome vehicles, it was part of the fun of driving about.
I chose Scottish Tourer because they have new vehicles every year, and because everything was included up front, we knew what we were paying for. I highly recommend them and hope you enjoy the experience as much as we did.

May 2017 - Rita & Graham, East Yorkshire, England

From our first enquiry with you, to saying cheerio at the end of the holiday, we have nothing but praise for the service you offer.
The Skye motor home was superb and was presented in excellent order throughout. The whys and wherefores were explained before setting off on our weeks holiday.
Our intention to travel the West Coast routes, which you supplied via the Tom Tom sat nav, led us to the Black Isle and Skye. The scenery was spectacular, and was matched by the weather, which we requested, and you supplied!!
We would say to anyone considering this type of holiday, do it, you will not be disappointed. Do it with Scottish Tourer (Gordon & Corinne) we cannot recommend them highly enough, after a holiday to remember...

May 2017 - Valerie & Dennis, Lancashire, England

We decided to do a trip we always considered doing but never have before we got to old to enjoy it.
We decided to hire a motor home for 10 days in Scotland, but had no idea who to hire from so after much research decided to take a chance with 'Scottish Tourer'.
We are very glad we did as the total service we received was FIRST CLASS & so was the Skye Motor Home.
On arrival at vendors premises in Perth we received a very warm welcome from Gordon, Corrine & Dawn.
They showed us everything relative about the Motor Home which took quite a while, but then we were on our way to the Outer Hebrides Via. Oban to Barra then across all the islands exploring the history and sights along the way & then returning to main land from Stornoway to Ullapool, then a good drive down to Perth to return the Motor Home for its final inspection in our care, the inspection was quick and easy then we were back into what felt like a small car to return home.
The routes supplied by Gordon are very detailed and informative also the sat nav is very well programmed with almost everything you need to know.
We really enjoyed the holiday and now have some nice memories to look back on.

May 2017 - Gordon & Rosalind, Derbyshire, England

Thank you for your kind attention and hard work in providing us with a superb Motorhome and all the extra information that made our three week adventure around the highlands of Scotland so enjoyable. We had long thought it would be a great idea, but your reassurance from our first contact last October, made us believe that it was actually possible for folk who are new to Motorhomes and apprehensive about driving one around the Scottish Highlands.

Motorhome Tour ready to board the ferry, and Sandwoodbay

Your first-hand experience and knowledge of the area helped us plan our trip even before we left home. The excellently equipped Swift Skye made wild camping very comfortable and we found some amazing places to stay. In three weeks we explored the Black Isle, headed up the East Coast and had a day trip as passengers over to Orkney. An easy drive along the single track roads along the north coast, then back, taking our time to enjoy the scenery, down the west coast with a detour to Skye. The landscape is simply stunning (we did have good weather) and a Motorhome a practical way to experience this wild and remote area. Your recommendations for campsites, when we used them, at Kinloch (on Skye) and Arisaig were excellent.

Image sunset from Shieldaig,Torridon, with another image from Gruinard Bay

We are left with a great sense of achievement, very happy memories of sights seen, amazing scenery and lots of unanticipated but joyful surprises along the way! We would recommend Scottish Tourers to anyone thinking of planning a similar trip because of the prompt, personal and professional attention that we received from Gordon and Corinne from our initial enquiry, until we returned the Motorhome.

May 2017 - Barry & Bradford, England:

We have just returned home following two weeks spent exploring the north of Scotland and the Western Highlands in one of Gordon and Corinne's luxury Skye Motor homes.
The word Luxury sums up everything about Scottish Tourers and Gordon and Corrine.

Their motor homes are specified and equipped to the highest level as well as being extremely comfortable. The level of service, from first enquiry to handing back the motor home at the end of your holiday, is top notch. Nothing is too much trouble.

Their 'pre-flight checks' with you before you get behind the wheel are comprehensive and stand you in good stead for when you hit the road. The Sat Nav, programmed with countless wild campsites, water stops, toilet stops and heaven knows what else, is indispensible They are always just a 'phone call away', but luckily we didn’t need to make use of this.

During our two weeks we saw stunning scenery, met a lot of very nice people and had a brilliant time.

Motorhome Tour in Scotland 2017

April 2017 - Davidson Family, Forfar, Scotland:

This was the second time we have hired from Scottish Tourer and the enjoyment we had first time round was easily replicated. This time we did the NC500, and once again we really loved life on the road in a fantastically kitted out and comfortable ‘home’ for the duration of our hire. As was the case last time, Gordon and Corinne were brilliant to deal with and extremely helpful and knowledgeable. After both our experiences with Scottish Tourer it is hard to even contemplate considering any other alternatives to their excellent service and motorhome fleet.

Motorhome Hire - Motorhome Hire Scotland 2017

April 2017 - Tim & Tracy, Rotherham, England:

There are quite a few things to say in regard to reviewing our holiday with Scottish Tourer. The first is about the quality of the motor home itself - it was brand new, just 20 miles on the clock. It was perfect for our 2 person needs, and made a rather wet week into a hugely enjoyable road trip.

The second is to note the very good quality pre-rental service. The information was timely, clear and detailed. Although we did struggle to find the house on arrival as we were expecting to enter a mobile home parking lot. But that's because we didn't read the information well enough.

The 'in holiday service' was not necessary as we were given an excellent explanation of how all the gadgets in the mobile home worked before we set off, but had we struggled as novice mobile homers, the availability of the staff 24/7 on the phone was reassuring.

On returning the vehicle we had a friendly and courteous experience despite the 'novice' errors we had made: not filling the LPG up enough, not filling up with water, not sufficiently emptying the loo. All of which were dealt with nicely and without drama.
Although we were a bit fortunate the van did not have to go out for another day or two.

The holiday itself was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. It was not a cheap holiday... but was absolutely the best way to see Scotland- even and perhaps especially, in bad weather. We had a truly great experience.

Follow@Scottourer

Find us on facebookFollow us on Google Plus

Scottish Tourer Motorhome Hire, 5 Ruthvenmill View, Huntingtower, Perth, Perthshire, Scotland PH1 3JL
TEL: 01738 580 755

© Scottish Tourer - Motorhome Hire 2009 - 2018